Rainbow Cake

Why does Snoop Dogg need an Umbrella?

Fo’ Drizzle!

You don’t need one though, all you need to brighten up your day is my Rainbow Cake!

11020350_10153134201081241_1746472943_n

Layers and layers of bright rays of sunshine and goodness.

11014739_10153134174496241_407609850_n

How can you not be cheered up by that?!

Now, just a warning.

This takes a little bit of patience.

The boy had to stop me chucking this is the bin at 11pm last night after my third attempt at icing failed.

I never really mastered it, so I decided to cover it in M&M’s instead. Which always works.

image4

So not only am I going to teach you what TO do, I’m going to teach you what definitely, absolutely NOT to to do.

No sense in us all having a baking fit, eh?

First for the sponges. The key is to be organised.

You will need 3 x the below for 6 layers or 2 x for 4

  • 125g butter, softened
  • 225g plain flour
  • 150g golden caster sugar
  • 3 medium eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • edible food colouring – red, yellow, green, blue, pink and purple.

Now the food colouring is very important. You need ALOT to make the colours bright and cheap liquid colouring can affect the taste.

Best way to go is invest in some concentrated paste from Wilton’s. You only need a squidge and they last AGES.

    1. Heat oven to 180C. Grease 2 x 20cm round sandwich tins and line the bases. Put all the sponge ingredients, apart from the food colouring, into a mixing bowl, then beat until smooth.

2. Split the mixture into two bowls. Pick 2 of your colours and stir a little into each mix. Keep going until you are happy with the colour – the colour will only get weaker so be brave! Scrape the different batters into the tins, making them as even as possible. Bake on the same shelf for 12 mins until a skewer comes out clean.

Unknown-3image10

3. Whilst those are cooking, get cracking making your next lot of batter. Start again from step 1.

4. Gently turn the cakes out onto a wire rack to cool. Wash the tins  and repeat step two – this time using another 2 colours. Keep going until you have all 6 layers.

11006006_10153134258126241_1208677611_n

For a nice clean finish, put a round template around each cake and with a very sharp knife, trip off the dis-coloured sides. This will give a much cleaner effect when you cut into the cake.

I forgot to do this, but do as I say not as I do!

Now the tricky bit. I originally went for this recipe for Swiss Meringue Frosting. This wasted 3 hours and no less than 10 egg whites.

Eventually, I surrendered and went for this simpler cream cheese frosting, which actually turned out much yummier.

FN_cream-cheese-frost-003_s4x3.jpg.rend.sni12col.landscape

For the frosting:

  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 x 250g tubs cream cheese or mascarpone
  • 350g icing sugar
  • White Chocolate chips to sprinkle between ever layer

1. To make the icing, very briefly beat the vanilla and cream cheese until smooth. VERY BRIEFLY.

2. Sift in the icing sugar and gently fold in with a spatula. Be careful – the more you work it, the runnier it will get.

Now this is where I had a small nervous breakdown.

It was 11pm. I had been baking for 4 HOURS.

My Swiss Meringue was a curdled mess. I had already sent the boy to Tesco to buy more ingredients.

Me and my kitchen were both covered in icing and I really, really hated my cake.

So instead of chilling the frosting in the fridge for an hour I just slopped it on and had done with it.

It should look like this:

recipe-image-legacy-id--1267466_7

Stop laughing.

Mine is beautiful in it’s own way. *Sobs*

So this morning when I woke up, cleaner and more sane, I poured over a load of M&M’s to…err…spruce it up a bit.

10997065_10153134256941241_1877110604_n

11014739_10153134174496241_407609850_n

TA-DA!

I learned many lessons with this cake. But it was all worth it to slice inside and beaming out at you is this slice of sunshine.

And you know what they say, if you want a Rainbow, you gotta have a little rain.

BB x

3 thoughts on “Rainbow Cake

Leave a Reply

