New Years Resolutions

original_hello-2016-new-year-cake-topper

Usually the start of January marks the beginning of a severe case of post-holiday blues for me. I start sulking on NYD and I’m rarely cheered until Valentines at the very earliest.

But not this year!

This year, I’ve got something more important to focus on.

btn19_l1_img_1434506486-285x285

#SpangellWedding prep has already started; I’ve got my trusty bridal folder, Pinterest is my homepage and the boy and I are due to visit venues next week. Eek!

It feels incredible to finally be able to plan our big day, but honestly, the thing I am most excited about is being married.

2016 is going to be an amazing year for us, and I have a few other resolutions I’d like to focus on for the next 12 months.

 

  1. Get my career on track

01

I have been so incredibly lucky so far in my working life, but I think this year is the right time for me to move on and focus on doing something I really love to do. It can be so easy to stay in a job because of materialistic reasons; but I have always promised that I would never take a job for the money and I need to focus on what makes me happy and fulfilled.

 

2. Unplug for a couple hours every day

content_unplug

It’s hard to tell someone with blog and various social media outlets to unplug. But it drives the boy mad and I got a real shock last year when some friends and I checked via an App how much time we spend on Facebook. Mine came back at a staggering 700 hours and it wasn’t even the worst! Imagine what I could have done with that time creatively or fulfilling resolution number 3…

 

3. Make more effort with friends

1be4589f4370ee2cd9e0de53c163ec53

We’ve all been there when you first fall in love and you want to spend aaallll your time together. Then, work gets in the way and you’re tired and just want to curl up and watch 5 hours of Netflix. Seeing my friends over the Christmas period reminded me how important it is to commit to seeing them at least once a month. Mine and H’s favourite thing is to pick a random Groupon activity and learn a new skill, it’s so much fun!

 

4. Continue living a healthy, balanced life

balancebike

As I’ve previously mentioned, weight and my relationship with food was a big issue with me, and 2015 was the first year I felt I truly achieved balance. With the help of exercise and fresh eating I was able to maintain and train in a really healthy way. I haven’t been to the gym in 2 weeks because of Christmas and I am so ready to get back into it!

 

5. Be kind, present and more mindful

Be-Mindful1-845x321

Finally, in 2016 I want to make sure I take in everything that is happening during this special time, but I also want to make sure I am aware of other peoples feelings and that I always speak with kindness and love. No Bridezilla here! *cough, come back in 9 months, cough*.

 

On a side note, I also want to:

Chew Less Gum!

42247340_280_IDShot_3I am ADDICTED to Wrigley Extra White Bubblegum. I eat at least 2 packs a day. That cannot be good for me.

I say, as I am chewing on 3 pieces.

 

Improve My Skincare Routine

Now I’m heading into my late twenties (EUGH!) I decided I needed some serious investment pieces to help look after my skin including a Clinique Sonic Brush (£79), Charlotte Tilbury Magic Cream (£70) and a pot of Glam Glow Face Mud (£40). As part of the expansion of the blog in 2016, I plan on doing product reviews, so I’ll keep you posted on how they work!

 

11363c9df5ff6a9389a58074fbb0a0bd - Copy

6ce93dc336bcb42ea43fcb4d8c4c032b - Copyglamglow-mask.jpg

 

 

 

Have you made any New Years Resolutions? If you haven’t already, try Lauren Conrad’s trick of popping your promises in a frame by your bedside. That way, you can be reminded of your goals every day!

nq5je09jj5t8dldgdrovswan-jpeg_600x0_r.png

BB x

One thought on “New Years Resolutions

Leave a Reply

